Hello and welcome to Sportstars LIVE coverage of Day 3 of the Irani Cup. Here is Lalith Kalidas bringing you the updates.

Irani Cup, day 2 recap

After a lackluster performance with the ball on opening day, the Madhya Pradesh bowlers came back strong to limit Rest of India to 484 in the first innings of the Irani Cup here at Captain Roop Singh Stadium on Thursday.

Resuming day two at 381 for three, MP bowlers made good use of the early morning conditions in the first session with the second fresh ball, taking the last seven wickets for just 102 runs.



In response, MP started poorly, losing three wickets with just 15 on board as Pacer Navdeep Saini (10-4-15-2) rolled a fiery spell with pace and accuracy, picking up two wickets.

However, Yash Dubey (53 nos) and Harsh Gawli (47 nos) fought back with an uninterrupted 97 run streak for the fourth wicket as MP finished the day with 112 for three and 372 runs behind.

Earlier, Pacer beat Ankit Kushwah in the third over of the day by removing night guard Saurabh Kumar, who dragged a wide delivery onto his stumps.

Avesh Khan (4/74), the top bowler on day one for MP, continued to impress, rolling a nagging line on off-stump and unluckily hitting the batter on either edge of the stick.

B. Indrajith was targeted a couple of times and eventually fell behind when Anubhav Agarwal at medium pace got one to go away a bit.

On the other hand, Yash Dhull (55) looked positive and kept finding the limits with flicks and drives. He whipped backfoot left-arm spinner Kumar Kartikeya to complete his half-century in style.

Just before the first session ended, MP picked up two quick wickets to leave the Rest of India at 467 for seven.

Immediately after the break, Kartikeya trapped Yash Dhull with his leg in front before Avesh cleaned up the rear and took the last two wickets from back-to-back deliveries.

MP have done a commendable job of limiting the rest of India to under 500 after conceding 381 goals on day one, but there is still an uphill battle ahead to stay alive in this game.

– S. Dipak Ragav


Rest of India (1st innings): Mayank Agarwal c Mantri b Avesh 2, Abhimanyu Easwaran (runout) 154, Yashasvi Jaiswal b Avesh 213, Saurabh Kumar b Kushwah 0, B. Indrajith c Mantri b Agarwal 19, Yash Dhull lbw b Kartikeya 55, Upendra Yadav b Kartikeya 14, Atit Sheth c Mantri b Agarwal 0, Pulkit Narang not from 8, Navdeep Saini c Kartikeya b Avesh 9, Mukesh Kumar c Mantri b Avesh 0, Extras (b-2, lb-6, nb- 2): 10; Total (in 121.3 overs): 484

FoW: 1-7, 2-378, 3-378, 4-382, 5-433, 6-466, 7-467, 8-469, 9-484.

Madhya Pradesh Bowling: Avesh 23.3-6-74-4, Anubhav 18-2-83-2, Kushwah 16-2-59-1, Saransh Jain 24-0-103-0, Kartikeya 32-5-118-2, Shubham 6-0-30-0, Aquil 2-0-9-0.

Madhya Pradesh (1st innings): Himanshu Mantri c Dhull b Saini 1, Arham Aquil c Upendra b Mukesh 0, Shubham Sharma lbw b Saini 4, Harsh Gwali bats 47, Yash Dubey bats 53, Extras (b-1, lb-4 , nb-2): 7; Total (for three wickets in 43 overs): 112

FoW: 1-1, 2-2, 3-15.

Bowling in the rest of India: Mukesh 11-3-27-1, Saini 10-4-15-2, Sheth 10-2-33-0, Saurabh 9-3-26-0, Narang 3-1-6-0.

Play XI:

Rest of India: Mayank Agarwal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Yash Dhull, Baba Indrajith, Upendra Yadav, Atit Sheth, Saurabh Kumar, Pulkit Narang, Navdeep Saini, Mukesh Kumar.

Madhya Pradesh: Himanshu Mantri, Yash Dubey, Shubham Sharma, Arham Aquil, Aman Singh Solanki, Harsh Gawali, Saransh Jain, Kumar Kartikeya Singh, Avesh Khan, Anubhav Agarwal, Ankit Singh Kushwah.

The squad:

Madhya Pradesh: Himanshu Mantri (c&wk), Yash Dubey, Harsh Gawli, Shubham Sharma, Akshat Raghuvanshi, Aman Solanki, Kumar Kartikeya, Saransh Jain, Avesh Khan, Ankit Kushwah, Anubhav Agarwal, Mihir Hirwani, Aryan Deshmukh, Arham Aqueel, Aryan Pandey

Rest of India: Mayank Agarwal (c), Sudip Kumar Gharami, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Harvik Desai, Mukesh Kumar, Atit Sheth, Chetan Sakariya, Navdeep Saini, Upendra Yadav (wk), Shams Mulani, Saurabh Kumar, Akash Deep, B Indrajith, Pulkit Narang, Yash Dull.

When and how to watch the Irani Cup today?

When will the final match between Madhya Pradesh and Rest of India, Irani Cup 2023 take place?

The final between Madhya Pradesh and Rest of India, Irani Cup 2023 begins on Wednesday 1st March.

Where will the Final between Madhya Pradesh and Rest of India, Irani Cup 2023 take place?

Madhya Pradesh vs Rest of India, Irani Cup 2023 will be played at Captain Roop Singh Stadium in Gwalior.

How and Where to Watch Madhya Pradesh vs Rest of India, Irani Cup 2023 Live Stream?

Madhya Pradesh vs Rest of India, Irani Cup 2023 streaming live on Disney+ Hotstar App.

Which Channel is Broadcasting Madhya Pradesh vs Rest of India, Irani Cup 2023?

Madhya Pradesh vs Rest of India, Irani Cup 2023 Final will be broadcast live on Star Sports Network in India.

When does the final between Madhya Pradesh and Rest of India, Irani Cup 2023 start?

Madhya Pradesh vs. Rest of India Final, Irani Cup 2023 begins March 1-5 at 9:20am IST.

Source visit